Posted by: organizationstation | July 7, 2008

Where do I store postage stamps?

Q.  Got any good ideas of where to store postage stamps? I have different sized sheets of stamps, in varying values, swimming amongst the clutter in my desk drawer!

A.  I have  three ideas for your postage stamp dilemma:

1.  Most desks have a place to hang file folders, I would put them in a file folder, label it, and keep it in the file drawer, of your desk.

2.  I would clean out the clutter in the desk drawer and keep only what you use.  I would use a drawer organizer to keep “like items” together.  There are many items you can use the make different compartments in a desk drawer, a Velveeta cheese box or the bottom of a cereal box are just two of the many items you could use. I would have a specific compartment for your stamps.

3.  Do you always use the desk to write out your envelopes to be mailed out?  Many people keep the stamps in the desk drawer, but don’t use the desk to write out the bills, cards and other things that they mail out. Keep the stamps in the area where you actually write.

Responses

  1. After reading your helpful tips, I decided to put my postage stamps in the hanging folder that I keep my return address labels in. I sorted my stamps into 2 envelopes; 1 for the First Class stamps and 1 for the stamps of other values. I wanted to use clear envelopes, so I dug through my scrapbooking supplies and found two 5″ x 7″ clear plastic envelopes to contain my postage stamps in!

    I also used your tip for organizing my desk drawer. I just happened to have several Velveeta Cheese boxes that I had saved, but decided not to use for a craft project. I used 4 1/2 of these boxes, along with some other small containers to organize my drawer. What a wonderful difference! Thank you so much for your help. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

