Posted by: Amy at FreshlyOrganized.com | November 14, 2008

Here comes Santa Clause

j0422478 I am hoping that you have started your Christmas shopping.  Christmas is just around the corner and if you do your shopping now, you won’t have to do it later!  As you’re getting started, try to remember the Christmas’ of your childhood.  Remember the Sear’s Wish Book, when I was a kid I’d circle away in hopes of getting at least one thing I wanted.  Boy, how times have changed.  My kids make their list and between Mom and Dad, Santa, Grandparent’s, Aunts’ and Uncle’s…they get just about everything they put on the list!!  And with 4 kids, that is a lot of stuff!!

Here are a few things that help control all the stuff.  First off, in November declutter the kids bedrooms and play areas.  Get rid of all the toys they have outgrown or don’t use.  You can throw them away, sell them or donate them.  If the toys are in really good shape then you should check to see if there is a local charity that could use them for needy children. 

Now for the incoming clutter, oops, I mean Christmas gifts. Try your best to keep the presents to a minimum.  This will save you money and prevent future clutter.  Remember, kids don’t need a lot.  I have a friend that just has Santa bring 3 gifts to each of her kids.  She says if “3 gifts were good enough for Jesus then 3 gifts is good enough for my kid”.  Another option is getting a group gift.  Last year at our house, Santa put just one item under the tree, a Wii game system.  I think the kids were a little shocked Christmas morning that the living room wasn’t filled with a bunch of stuff, but they recovered really quick when they realized they got a Wii.  Plus, they still had all the wrapped presents from the rest of the family.

When I was a kid, we always seemed to have a lot under the tree on Christmas morning.  Looking back now though, I can’t remember what it all was.  I can remember just one special gift that I got each year.  My advice to you is to try to find that one special gift for your child.  They don’t need all the stuff on their list but they will remember that one gift.   It is the gift that shows them that Santa, or their parents, really knows them and loves them.

Responses

  1. Amy — Fantastic ideas and insights. I recently launched a website called FrumUs.com that I thought you might like to know about. FrumUs finally makes it easy to organize a group gift — whether it’s aunts/uncles chipping in for bigger gift for neices, classroom collections for teachers, the office collection for a baby. No more chasing people for checks, “reply all” emails — it’s all done online….so ORGANIZED! Please let me know what you think. Cheers. Karen


Leave a Reply

Categories

