Posted by: Amy at FreshlyOrganized.com | January 2, 2009

Getting Organized in the New Year

j0415896

Happy New Year!  Have you got your list of resolutions?  If one of your resolutions is to get organized then you are not alone.  Getting organized is one of the top resolutions every year.  Being organized can save you time and money.   I say it is time to get to work!!  

Your resolution may go something like this “I resolve to get my house organized”.  Wow, that sounds awesome…and a bit overwhelming!!   When you make a resolution it should be specific and realistic.  When you are trying to get organized, I always recommend starting with an area that just drives you crazy.  What area do you want to start with?  Maybe it is your purse, your laundry room or even your home office.  A couple of examples of a good resolution would be 

  • “I resolve to spend 15 minutes a day getting organized”
  • ” I resolve to spend 1 hour each Saturday morning getting organized”
  • ” I am resolving to organize the laundry room in January, the kitchen in February, the storage area in March, the garage in April, etc. ”  

Figure out what will work best for you.

Once you have a resolution, write it down and make a plan of attack.  The key is to just get started and stay positive.  If this is all very overwhelming then you will want some help.  You can ask a friend to help or maybe you will want to hire a Professional Organizer.  Professional Organizers can help you with the plan of attack and help you personalize your organization process.  Everyone is different and Professional Organizers are trained to create systems that take individual needs into account. 

Best of luck to you with your resolutions.  It is a great time of the year to turn a new leaf.  Just think, if you get organized you’ll have more time to work on those other resolutions… like getting more exercise.  Happy New Year!

BTW, here are a couple of links that can also help you with your resolutions. Tips for setting New Years goals and More Tips for setting New Years Goals

Responses

  1. Amy, thanks for your tips. I really like the ideas to commit to an hour each weekend to organize or to shoot for one room per month!

    This is the 1st year that I did not have to make a list of resolutions. Was it because I finally accomplished all of my goals? On the contrary; I discovered that I had been setting the same goals year after year after year AFTER YEAR…. and maybe completing 1 insignificant goal out of 20 more life-changing goals! How depressing! Yes, my goals were general with wimpy or no concrete plan of action, but I couldn’t figure out how to get over that hump to turn my dreams into reality. But now, I am finally making progress and I’d like to tell you about my 4-step process.

    I decided to look at the items on my list, not so much as goals that I either succeeded at (and checked off), or failed to achieve (and had to write down yet again), but as areas in my life that defined what I saw as my various roles. I could see that I needed to improve in these roles, but it no longer seemed like a failure to write down the same list of goals (roles) again, so I decided to write them in a different way.

    Step One: I reworded all of my goals into affirmations. Instead of saying, “get organized”, I said, “I am capable of getting and staying organized”. See the difference? I’m giving myself a positive, confident message. Instead of “loose xx lbs”, I say, “I can greatly improve the status of my health”. Our mind is constantly feeding us discouraging, defeating messages, so to battle that I read my affirmations daily, to program my mind to think positively.

    Step Two: I only read 2 of my affirmations a day. If I read more, I can’t mentally process them as well. After reading the affirmation in it’s declaritive statement form, then I rephrase each one into a question that starts with “What more can I do to…. “. So then it reads, “What more can I do to improve the status of my health?”. Then I think about that question for a few minutes and if I come up with an idea, I write it down in a journal. If the idea is something that I need to follow up on, I draw a box beside it so I can check it off when I have done that action. If I can’t think of any specific action at that time, then I am satisfied to invision myself as how I might look or feel if I were more healthy or whatever the goal in the role may be.

    Step Three: I review my journal and start trying to check off some of those action ideas.

    Sometimes you’ve got to admit when you need to give up on a certain way of doing things, even though it may have worked for you in the past. I used to be able to exercise and diet independently, but this time I couldn’t get started, so I joined a women’s gym and resolved to go there 3-5 days a week, right after I dropped my kids off at school. Their CurvesSmart system tells me how many calories I burned in a workout, so then I would watch my diet, because I felt like it would be a waste of my time and money if I was just going to over-eat anyway.

    I had also been spinning my wheels with getting a room organized. I had never hired help before to help me with something like this, but I decided to hire a professional organizer for one day and she was really a good investment.

    Not all of my affirmations are about roles; some of them have more to do with character building and attitudes. Examples: A) role affirmation; I am a good mother, B) character affirmation; I am self-disciplined, C) attitude affirmation; C1) I accept myself as a person of worth, even though I make mistakes [see Zeph. 3:17], C2) I can choose to change habits that stand in the way of my happiness [see Hebrews 12:1] and C3) I do not let feelings of being overwhelmed get control of me and cause me to procrastinate; instead I accept that I am a person with limited time, abilities and resources, so I need to break down big jobs into manageable chunks and dig in &/or find help [see 1 Peter 3:6]

    Step Four: Remember your acheivements. I have a tendency to get discouraged by looking at how much I have left to accomplish, and I lose sight of the good that I have done. Now, I am punching out gold stars and writing down each point of progress that I have made on the back, like, “I’m consistantly getting my billing out on time” and “I got my ___room clean & organized!”. I hang the stars up. Looking at them encourages me to keep moving forward, consistantly working bit by bit to improve my roles, character and attitude.

  2. I thought it important to mention that besides meditating on my affirmations to come up with ways that I can do them better, sometimes I research those ideas on the Internet or ask people for advice.

    • Brenda,

      Way to go! I love the way you made your resolutions into affirmations. I have already rethought my resolutions. I should write them in a journal like you. That would probably help me. Thanks for the inspiration!

      Happy New Year,
      Amy


Leave a Reply

Categories

