Posted by: Cyndy Salzmann | January 10, 2009

A RESOLUTION WORTH KEEPING

“I had heard about you before, but now I have seen you with my own eyes.” Job 42:5

j0227706 Good intentions. Our lives are full of them. And when it comes to finding time to spend one-on-one time with God, the proverbial “road” is paved with them.

If you are experiencing a similar struggle, I’ll give you the same challenge a wise friend gave me. One day, after patiently listening to my litany of excuses for not having a daily devotional time, my friend surprised me with a simple question.

“Cyndy do you have seven minutes in your day that you could set aside to spend with God?”

“Seven minutes?” I asked. “What good is seven minutes?” Admittedly, I was a little skeptical as she laid out her plan…

  1. Spend the first 30 seconds asking God to quiet your heart and give you a teachable spirit.
  2. Spend the next four minutes reading the Bible. Read whatever you like. The Bible tells as that ALL Scripture is “God breathed” and useful for teaching and training in righteousness. (2 Timothy 3:16)
  3. For the remaining time (2 ½ minutes) PRAY.

P – Praise God for who He is what He means to you.

R – Repent of your sins – and accept God’s forgiveness.

A- Ask God to provide what you need. Pray about the big things and the little things. One time I asked for a better attitude about laundry (I HATE laundry…) and God led me to Genesis 2:25, “They were naked and not ashamed.”

Y – Yield. This is the hardest for most of us. Allow God to order your day. Lord, THY will be done – not MY will.

Can you find seven minutes in your day to spend with God?

 

Responses

  1. Thank you for this advice. I printed it out to refer to the acronynm for PRAY; a great reminder. Several months ago, I decided to get up 15 minutes earlier to read the Bible and pray. If I don’t get enough sleep or the morning routine gets ahead of my plans, I try to fit in a quick read later in the day, as I work from my home. I have made a checklist of all of my routine tasks that I must do and I have included this appointment with God on my daily schedule, so if I notice that I have not checked it off yet, then I take a moment to stop what I am doing and check in with God. If there’s a certain topic that I want to read about I enter that word in the keyword search at http://www.BibleGateway.com . I have also laid aside my grand plan of having an in depth family Bible study, so I have required that my kids have their own appointment with God to read his word and pray for 5-10 minutes daily, too.

  2. Thanks so much, Brenda! This is excellent advice — especially the tip about doing the keyword search. This would be a good way to address an issue I was dealing with that day — like patience, worry, etc. Thanks again for your comment! : )


Leave a Reply

Categories

