Posted by: hopeorganizing | February 7, 2009

How do I stay organized once the Organizer leaves?

Q – I hired a Professional Organizer to help me get a room in my home organized – How do I stay organized once the Organizer leaves?

A – Its a great start that you are asking that question, it is good to know that from that start that an Organizer basically gets the process started but that you will need to continue on a daily/weekly/monthly basis.

1 -The organizer should be begin the entire process by finding out what is working for the client and work those into the plan.  Don’t change something that is not broken.

2 – The organizer and the client should be working together as team when working on the room, this way the client can have a say on what will work with their lifestyle.

3 – Plan for 5 minutes a day (in the morning/before bed/whatever works for you) to put things away.

* Don’t beat yourself up if you forget for a day or even a few – just don’t wait too long.

4 – If something is just not working for you – call or email your organizer and they should be willing to give you some ideas or advice.

Responses

  1. After I had a professional organizer help me with a room, my sister told my mother that she’d better hurry over to see it before I messed it up again. I rebutted that I was not going to let that happen, but inwardly I cringed, knowing the painful truth that staying organized was not one of my strong-suits.

    I realized, in order to get or keep my rooms organized, I’d have to be watchful for those old habits that would cause me to ‘mess up’. Often I catch myself piling stuff up instead of taking a few extra steps to put the stuff where it belongs. When I catch myself, I ask myself, ‘Why don’t you just put it away now?’ Running up and down the stairs or getting up out of my chair won’t hurt me, after all!

    Sometimes, I think about my childhood friend’s home. It was a modest home, but it was always clean and tidy, which added to it’s comfortable atmosphere. Then, I think that I should be able to provide a clean and tidy home for my family; it doesn’t cost anything to do – just a little elbow grease and persistence. By working at keeping my home tidy, I also set an example for my children and this made it easier to get them to pitch in. One of my children was so enthusiastic about the difference in the home that he volunteered to do extra chores and he also thinned out the stuff in his room.

    Whenever I strive to form habits that are directly opposite of my tendencies, I try to remember that I have a helper who can make anything possible. “The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid.” Hebrews 13:6

    God is the ultimate organizer; “For God is not a God of disorder but of peace.” 1 Cor. 14:33

    “Don’t give up and always pray,” Luke 18:1

    If you have so much stuff that you don’t know what to do with it all, this could be a wake-up call that it is time to share some of it with others who may need it or be blessed to receive it. Thinning out your storeroom or closet, will give you peace of mind; less stuff is easier to keep organized, and giving it away with pure intentions will shift your focus from bearing all of your stuff to helping others. Our Lord encourages us to share, and he promises that we will have much more to look forward to for an eternity. He also encourages us to work hard. Getting organized is hard work, but it enables us to share our things and also to provide a more peaceful home.

    “He … must work, doing something useful with his own hands, that he may have something to share with those in need.” Eph. 4:28

    “The man with two tunics should share with him who has none, and the one who has food should do the same.” Luke 3:11

    As I’m working to sort out a pile, if I get bored, it helps me to imagine that I am working for Jesus. “Serve wholeheartedly, as if you were serving the Lord, not men, because you know that the Lord will reward everyone for whatever good he does.” Eph. 6:7-8

    I also try to remember that worrying about getting or staying organized is not going to help. So I push worry away and just do what I can. I don’t dwell too long on what I have left to do, because that overwhelms me. While I work, I enjoy thinking about the rewards of my labor, like how nicely the space will look and function when it is clean. And, I remember that this home doesn’t have to fill all of my desires, because there’s a much better home waiting for me in heaven.

    The following verses have been condensed and my personal interpretations added in parenthesis: “Then Jesus said: ‘Do not worry about your life; … Life is more than food (and other material stuff and life is more than your house), and the body is more than clothes. Consider this: Birds do not sow or reap, they have no storeroom (or closet); yet God feeds them. And how much more valuable you are than birds! Who can add a single hour to his life by worrying? Since you cannot do this, why do you worry about the rest? O you of little faith! … your Father knows that you need food and clothes. But seek his kingdom, and these things will be given to you as well. Do not be afraid, little flock, for your Father has been pleased to give you the kingdom. Sell your possessions and give to the poor. Provide (savings accounts) for yourself in heaven that will not run out, and treasures in heaven that will not (get broken, disorganized or dusty)! For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also’.” Luke 12:22-34

    So as you organize what you have and sort out what you will share, remember to count your blessings, thank God and take time to enjoy your life. “Then I realized that it is good and proper for a man to eat and drink, and to find satisfaction in his toilsome labor under the sun during the few days of life God has given him—for this is his lot. Moreover, when God gives any man wealth and possessions, and enables him to enjoy them, to accept his lot and be happy in his work—this is a gift of God. He seldom reflects on the days of his life, because God keeps him occupied with gladness of heart.” Eccl. 5:18-20


Leave a Reply

Categories

