Posted by: Amy at FreshlyOrganized.com | February 13, 2009

How to Preserve Your Memories in a Photo Book

 j0430728 I have a confession to make, I love scrapbooks.  They are creative, fun and a great way to preserve your photos.  The problem for me is that scrapbooking creates stress. When I was scrapbooking, I always felt like I was behind. It also cost me a lot of money.  I would purchase my prints, buy the book and then I had to have all those cute scrapbook accessories and the much needed tools.  My scrapbooking took over a large space in the basement and… all that stuff was a huge organizing challenge. So, when one of my friends showed me a photo book she had made, I could see a light at the end of my scrapbooking tunnel!!  

Photo books give me what I wanted out of scrapbooking.  I wanted my photos in a fun and organized book with captions to help capture the memories. I discovered that making a  photo book is pretty easy.  I have used mostly shutterfly.com for my books but there are other great sites that make the books like Blurb.com and Ourhubbub.com.   When you visit one of the web sites that makes photo books , you pick out the type of album you want to make.  They have lots of options on the size, cover and page backgrounds.  After you make all your choices,  you can download your pictures  to the site.  No worries, your pictures will still be on your computer. You can then drag your pictures to the pages of the book.  Shutterfly now has a story board feature which makes it very easy to place pictures on the pages in order of events.   It will take a few hours to make a book but you won’t have to order any prints or buy any scrapbooking stuff.  You just need a computer.  When it is all complete you will receive a nice bound book with all your pictures. 

If you love to scrapbook, then keep it up.  Otherwise, give the photo books a try.  It will simplify your life.

Responses

  1. Photo Book– create your own custom photo book at http://www.familymemories.com/ – it’s easy and the results are truly professional with the print quality andf the binding – you can use this software to create wedding books, baby books, photo books, and portfolio books.


Leave a Reply

Categories

