Posted by: organizationstation | April 29, 2009

Do you have a PEN addiction?

Q.  Do you have a Pen addiction?

A.  I have to admit, I am a PEN-aholic.  I didn’t even realize it until I went to a trade show, this last week.  I left and I had picked up 42 pens! I started to think about the reasoning behind my behavior.  I knew I didn’t need them, I have a whole drawer full of them.  I personnally think they multipy in the dark.  I knew then and there that I had a problem.  I realized, I love FREE stuff.  I now know that free doesn’t always mean free.  It put more “stuff” into a room that already had enough. It became a burden instead of a joy.  Now I had to make a decision that I wouldn’t have had to make if I hadn’t brought them home.  I am going to give away all but 10 pens, that is more than any one person can use.  I am going to go “cold turkey” when it comes to picking up pens!  Do you have anything  coming into your home that you don’t really need.  I hope you will think before you pick up any more FREE stuff.

Responses

  1. Interesting discussion. I am actually a pen-fussy. Is there such a word?? I am so particular about the pens I use that very few meet my standards. The nib, the weight, the hiding-away click so it doesn’t leak in my bag, even the writing on it must be just right. Perhaps that’s an addiction too, but at least I don’t end up with lots of pens.

  2. I love to go to garage sales with my sister. It’s fun to look at all of the stuff that other people are trying to get rid of and it’s really fun when you find something unique that you just can’t pass up. A lot of these items are “next to free” so it is very easy to purchase more than I need. Where I tend to over-indulge is with home decor; I really don’t know where I’m going to put the item, but I reason that I might figure that out later. Sometimes I do find my new little trinket a space in my home, and other times it just becomes a piece of clutter that I don’t know what to do with. I am becoming a bit more cognizant of the limitations of my space and have mustered up enough will-power from time to time to say “no” to those things that are so cute, but realistically may only become clutter.

    On the subject of ink pens, I find it strangely difficult to toss a pen that doesn’t write easily; I have to give it several chances to redeem itself before I throw it away. I hold my hand over the trash can, gripping the pen as if this decision will be consequential and then I finally force myself to let the used-up or flawed thing go. Afterall, it probably cost me 15 cents when I purchased it 6 years ago!?!


Leave a Reply

Categories

