Posted by: organizationstation | November 25, 2009

Let’t talk Manuals

Every household has many, many manuals for everything we own (washer/dryer, Xbox 360, TV’s, electronic devices).  Put every manual in alphabetical order filed by what you call it. If you call your TV a television or a SONY television, file it by what the first thing that comes to mind when you think of that item.  The reason behind this theory is: when the dishwasher is flooding the kitchen floor, you don’t want to have to search for the name of the (Kenmore) dishwasher, you need that manual fast!  I keep the receipt attached to the manual, for big ticket items.  You will have it available to prove your purchase date.

I have a wonderful story to tell you about manuals and receipts. I had bought a recliner with a 10 year spot warranty included with it. The recliner was 9 1/2 years old when it got a spot that I could not remove. I knew that the warrantee and the receipt for this recliner were in my manual folder, filed under the name recliner. I went to my file, retrieved the paperwork, and called the company. Since I had the receipt, the proof of purchase and the warrantee, I was given a brand-new recliner to replace my 9 1/2-year-old recliner. It was as easy as that.

The one thing you do need to remember about your manual folders is that they need to be gone through and old manuals for items you no longer own, should be purged. I normally go through mine once a year, just to keep it current.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

