Posted by: organizationstation | March 24, 2010

Telephone Tips, Part 3

  • Be efficient: tell people that you don’t have time to “chitchat”, but tell them in a very nice way. For incoming calls an example might be: great to hear from you, I’d love to catch up, but I’m working on a deadline, what can I do for you today? If you are calling someone for information, say, “hello Diane, I am under a tight deadline for this project, please let me come right to the point.”  Tell the person up front your time is limited but in a nice way.
  • Explain the purpose of your call. Stating your goal clearly in the beginning of the call gives you direction and a clear focus to your conversation. Example: Hi Diane, I need a copy of the Smith’s projections for the next year. Can you help me out? Thanks
Leave a Reply

Categories

