Posted by: Amy at FreshlyOrganized.com | July 15, 2010

Time Management Tips for Stay at Home Moms

Does time seem to get away from you?  Are you constantly running around with very little time for yourself?  Here are a few tips to give you more control of your time.

  • Plan ahead.  Give yourself time to be ready and on time to events.  If you don’t have time to answer the phone as you are walking out the door then…don’t answer the phone.  You can get the message later.  Sometimes when the phone rings as I am walking out the door I will listen to the message just to make sure it isn’t information I need immediately.
  • Map your time.  Have you ever heard of a time map?  This is a tool to help you map out your daily routine.  This helps give a time to the things you normally do during the day.  Time maps are different for everyone but here is an example for a stay at home mom: 
    • 5:30-8 am  exercise, read, get ready for day
    • 8am – 9 am family time -  kids wake up, feed them and get them ready for the day
    • 9am – 11am  chores,errands, phone calls
    • 11am – noon lunch/clean kitchen
    • noon – 5pm free time ( time to have some good kid fun, go to pool, plan a toddler play date while baby naps, do an art project, etc.)
    • 5-6:30pm cook and eat dinner
    • 6:30pm-8:45pm family time
    • 8:45 pm prep for tomorrow ( put needed things in car for errands, make phone call list, process mail,etc.)
    • 9pm- 10pm husband time
  • Stop procrastinating.  Time yourself next time you need to do those dreaded chores.  It is less daunting when you see that it only takes 8 minutes to fold a load of laundry, 5 minutes to empty the dishwasher, and 15 minutes to clean the kitchen after dinner(less than this if you clean while you cook).

When I was a stay at home mom, time management was one of those things that I tended to overlook.  I found myself with too much unscheduled time, so my time went by with just basics(taking care of the kids) getting done.  Once I set aside time to do things that needed to get done, I felt better at the end of the day because I got my chores done and I also got to enjoy my family.  It doesn’t get much better than that!

Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Sandy Talbot, Amy Tokos. Amy Tokos said: Time Management Tips for Stay at Home Moms: http://wp.me/p7Wue-sY […]

  2. Amy, I like your time map, because it seems a lot simpler than the one that I was using. I was micro-managing every minute of my day, and that was driving me crazy and making me stress out. I am a stay-at-home mom and I have a business in my home. I really need to follow a schedule, because, when I don’t, I leave a lot of important things undone. But because my time map was so overwhelming, I haven’t been using it and I’ve been neglecting important tasks again! I guess I don’t have to write down and time everything that I do. I like the idea of bunching similar tasks together in a more general catagory and scheduling a block of time for all of them. I’ll have to try that and see if it keeps me on track without adding stress.

  3. Brenda, You are right! When we make our time maps real specific it is overwhelming and hard to maintain. Keeping it general gives you direction on how your day needs to flow but it also has some much needed flexibility. This is key especially for you since you have kids and a home-based business. Good luck with your new time map and let me know how it goes for you.

    • I’ll do that. Thanks for the reply.


Leave a Reply

Categories

