Posted by: hopeorganizing | January 2, 2011

Organizing your WANTS to TO in 2011!

Are you overwhelmed with all your goals and resolutions for the New Year?  I recommend just making a list of the the little things you want to do this year that may all lead to one big goal – but focus on the small steps.

I am always thinking about all the little things I would like to get done (clean out my emails, create a photo album our last vacation, transfer all my negatives to digital photos, blog on a weekly basis, send birthday cards, etc.) The problem is that I am always thinking about these things and not creating a plan.  My business coach told me to do a “mental dump”.  To help me clear some of the clutter for my mind.

What is a Mental Dump?  Schedule an hour when you can sit in a quite place without distractions with a notebook or a computer.  Just start writing down everything that comes into your mind.  It doesn’t have to be organized – its your personal brainstorming session.

I went through each part of my life for example – family, faith, friends, my house, volunteer work and business and tried to think of things in each of the categories to try and get everything out of my head.

The next step is to wait a do or so then prioritize what you actually need to get down and what you want to get done and what really isn’t important.

Remember you always change this list and add to it as things come along. Now just remember to take small steps to reach your goals!

Responses

  1. This article has some good points, but I’m stumped on your title. What does ‘WANTS to TO’ mean?

    Also, this sentence makes absolutely no sense. “The next step is to wait a do or so then prioritize what you actually need to get down and what you want to get done and what really isn’t important.” Spell check is not ALWAYS your friend.

    ….just saying.


Leave a Reply

Categories

